Chess Mega Minds 2016 – The Winners !

The finals of the chess mega-minds competition took place in Galway today with schools from Dubin to Kerry taking part.

The overall winner of the National  School Section was Denis Ruchko of Scoil Caitriona Galway.  And the Secondary school puzzle champion is Kynesha Ryder from Achill, Co. Mayo.

Primary Schools –  Chess Mega Mind:

  1. Denis Ruchko    –  85 pts.
  2. Ronan Marnon  –  80 pts.
  3. Dylan Murphy & Katy Donnelly  – 75 pts.


Secondary Schools –   Chess Mgea Mind:

  1. Kynesha Ryder  –   70 pts.
  2. Evan Forde     –   60 pts.

In the Swap Chess Competition, each team played 6 games .. tables are below.. congratulations to St. Catherines of Dublin (Katy & Andrew) on winning the National School section.  And, in the secondary schools & clubs section,  well done to Kynesha & Denis from the Galway Junior chess club.  Both sections were won on a total of 6 outta 6 points !



This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply